“First Time for Everything!” Well Make it Stop! :)

Reading through old posts, I came across this gem. Thought I’d re post it. This is how enthusiastic I was when I first started querying this summer. My how things have changed!!! If I could only tell myself back then, that I would go through that thirteen more times.

Yes, there’s a first time for everything.

Just wish there would be a last time too. 😦

FIRST TIME FOR EVERYTHING!!! 6/14/2010

I got my first rejection email from an agent!!!! :-D
I have passed through the Gate of Writers!
Perhaps I shouldn’t be this excited. But I’m not going to let it rain on my day. I hear that writers’ lives are fraught with rejections. This just means I’ve passed my first test. I can be rejected. And I can take it well! I imagine that will take me far on this uncertain path. NOW, the story might change if I get a few more rejection letters. I’ve sent four query letters, and one has come back negative. I’m planning on sending out a few more this week to boost my chances for success. Which are already good, I hope. :-)
-j.p.
The word of the day: Daksinarrow.

10 thoughts on ““First Time for Everything!” Well Make it Stop! :)

  1. All I can say is you have to start somewhere. If you are afraid of rejection and don’t try then you’ll never find out if you could have succeeded. I’ve heard that many famous authors and well known books were turned down hundreds of times. Just because you get a stack of rejection letters doesn’t necessarily mean that your book isn’t a gem. Perhaps you just haven’t sent it to the right person yet.

    • Oh, you’re right Haley. I agree with you. The rejection letter is simply a formality of getting published. Although that 100’s number is kind of daunting… 😀 I haven’t given up, I’m just a little less enthusiastic now about being rejected. 🙂

      Nice to see a new face around here! Just curious, how did you find my House of Happy?

  2. Don’t give up.
    “The great successful men of the world have used their imagination. They think ahead and create their mental picture in all its details, filling in here, adding a little there, altering this a bit and that a bit, but steadily building – steadily building.” ~Robert Collier
    I’m sure all these lovely, fellow aspiring writings are rooting for you. Just know someone believes you can do it. 🙂

  3. Been there, done that. I exactly know what you mean by “make it stop”. I did, by getting caught in the whirlpool of revisions which seems to never stop churning :).

    Thank you for deciding to stop by my blog; making a new friend always put a shine on an otherwise dull day!

    Happy New Year — here’s to more new beginnings that lead to better endings! 🙂

  4. all of a sudden I remember Thomas Edison’s saying
    ” I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”
    but to know such number of failure? I get discouraged sometimes
    You can do it JP! at least you have been in the paths of rejections,
    rejections will lead to a success in the end!

Say Something Here

