Twittereries

No, I’m not talking about a dictionary with Twitterisms in it. And I’m not talking about fairies that send Tweets to people instead of fairy dust.

I had an idea recently. It just kind of struck me, kind of like the way a bullet hits a tin can and the can goes flying off its little stand and falls to the ground, a dented twisted piece of metal good for nothing but to recycle.

Okay, that was a terrible analogy. How about the way an arrow strikes a target full of straw?

Um, no, that was terrible too…The idea struck me the way a hammer strikes a bell and it rings out for the whole town to hear…only to get a crack in it years later and be put in a museum.

Well, that analogy was a mixed bag.

But now…I ramble. 🙂

An idea struck me today, like an idea hits a brilliant person. (Ooh! Bingo!) What if we sent queries in 140 characters or less to an agent during a hash-tag chat? Twitter-queries! For instance, mine would look like this:

@randomagent Intrested in a puzzle-mystery set in a 50’s-like future, featuring banned books, taboo history, double-crossers, & young spies?

I’m no agent, so I’m not going to set one up. But I like to think about things. An interesting idea? Maybe? Maybe not?

What would your Twitterery look like?

14 thoughts on “Twittereries

  1. Hmm. I’d be dubious. It would be hard to really get the gist of a novel from a 140-character summary. As a query method, this would favor stories with bizarre and unusual (and gimmicky) set-ups over stories with more meat and substance – and although the gimmicky set-ups can produce great stories, the world of great stories is far more broad than that…

    • Gotcha. Excellent point.

      But still, it would give us a chance to get an immediate response from an agent on his/her interest. ? And they do say that short, succinct queries get “good grades.”

  2. Hmm… I wouldn’t be too surprised if this idea catches on like a house on fire (thought I should throw in a not so non-violent analogy in there, too :))! At the rate technology is developing (especially in the social networking sphere), we may get there — the lesser said the better for time management purposes. As for sharing my tweet-query, I would’ve, but it’s just that I haven’t even mastered the normal 1-page query yet to my satisfaction. Once I’m there, I’ll let you know how my query would look in 140 characters or less :-).

  3. Brilliant idea! Never having submitted a query letter, I think I would use your suggestion to save myself of the agony of correct composition of such a thing. Besides, I can do it in only 79 words:

    Insanely insidious poet, brilliant in her badness presents an awesome anthology of the poorest poetry ever written or rhymed. The dubiously delightful inept illustrations which also accompany the lousy limericks, are ubiquitously unique, hideously horrible, and will leave all readers ravaged of reason, bereft of beauty, and yet never alone in aching agony. This would truly be the most cloying collection of any publisher’s pantheon of awful anthologies! Don’t delay! Dare to be different! Contact Calhoun: calhounscalamities@poorpoet.com/poorpoetry/

    Whaddaya say? 😀

    • Oh my, what a simply quarrantinable query! You did a terribly terrific job on the gist of the joint, although I feel curiously compelled to criticize your cuery: It was supposed to be 140 characters, and here you have written about 552. Fail, Paula, epic fail!!! 😀

  4. In my inimitable stupidity, I failed positivdity
    I thought it said 140 words!
    Of course now I see I’ve failed, I won’t even attempt now
    To resubmit something I have no idea how
    To do. Boo hoo.
    Besides, I don’t twitter
    Or tweet, or chirp. But I burrrrp!

  5. This is less than 140 characters:

    Vampire antihero faces drama, politics, legends come alive, addiction & a dragon problem in a high-fantasy epic

    — but doesn’t make any mention of the setting, other characters, or any of the plot intricacies it took me over ten pages to summarise. Needless to say, I need to cut the summary down considerably to write a decent synopsis (though I should probably finish writing the novel first!). I like the idea and I think it could be useful to initially grab an agent’s attention, but I can’t realistically see it replacing traditional queries. Who knows, though? The way social media is taking off, this could be the query of the future!

    By the way — hello there! First-time commenter. 🙂 I’m off to have a look around the rest of your blog now.

    • Hey Lex!

      Looks like you’ve got the 140-character query down to a science.

      I’m not wishing it to replace the old-fashioned query system. I’m a kinda old-fashioned person like that…

Say Something Here

