Rusty Me

Me squeaky right now. Me not working like me should. Me rusty.

Sigh. I’m following one of those cardinal writers’ rules, and I’m sharing my struggles publicly. Hopefully it will work. Hopefully it will do something. Hopefully, this rust will squeak its way right off of me and I can move on with life!!!! 😡

Okay, so here we go.

I am rusty. I don’t know what exactly is wrong with me, but I just can’t seem to get going on a story.

I revisit the same themes…a will, a letter, a lonely MC, a best friend…My own collection of personal clichés. Maybe that’s one of my problems.

When I write, it comes up feeling dry and soulless. It feels crunchy like a stale cracker…no, not crunchy…It feels empty. Like a cloudy clunker of a tupperware box. With an old, dry orange peel inside, and a fly buzzing around near-noiselessly.

Maybe I’ve just gotten out of the habit too much. I’ve been into poetry lately, and blogging, and Planty. I’ve also been juggling schoolwork as well as working-for-money. Although, I save some time on the socialization sector; I don’t have a very active social life. (Which can be sort of unpleasant, but somewhat of a blessing too…)

Maybe I haven’t written enough lately, and my muscles are weak. Maybe I just am not a “Writer” anymore, and I need to re-become one. I write, sure…but fiction comes hard these days. I haven’t gotten started on the novel I would love to be writing right now.

I am also out of my writers’-circle. I mean, online, I have you guys—a small group of writing friends. But in real life, I haven’t really been sharing my work much, I haven’t been chatting it up with my writer homies. Life takes precedence, of course. But writing should be part of my life.

Maybe I’m lazy.

Maybe me is just rusty.

Just sharin’.

15 thoughts on “Rusty Me

  1. Looks to me like you’ve got the beginnings of a story right there! But in any event I have an idea for you: How about a humorous SS about two Bad Poets in a battle over who is worse? You can include some examples. Personally I think the character that most represents you should lose, and the one that represents me (of course it would be me!), should win hands down, but as you would be the author you can do whatever you like! 😀

  2. Wow it’s green around here now!

    I know what you mean about feeling rusty. You know what though? No one can tell if they read your writing. Just write, and you’ll get through it, out of it 🙂

  3. Wow, I love T.S.’s new gravatar.

    Oh, sorry, got sidetracked there. I’m not sure why it should be a writer rule to ‘suffer in silence’. If we’re struggling, we should be able to say so and get strength from our peers.

    That being said, maybe you’re overthinking it a bit. Instead of looking through old notes, try watching people, listening to conversations or looking at weird news articles. Or you could always do the bad poet duel 🙂

    • Yes, it certainly is a change from what we’ve been seeing for the past forever. (Great pic BTW, Tessa, if you’re reading this!)

      We writers are allowed a healthy dose of distraction every now n’ so often. ‘Tis what makes the world go round. (Or is that cake?)

      Ya know what, maybe I should stop moping about it and getting out and doing something about it, like you said!!! Keep my eyes open for new experiences etc.

  4. Pingback: Scared of Failing « House of Happy

Say Something Here

