Stop That!!!

Last night, I got sick of my vocabulary. So, I compiled a “Stop [Saying] That!” list. It’s actually simply a taboo list, but if I call it a “Stop [Saying] That!” list, it will fit the criteria for my A-Z challenge. 🙂

So, what is this list?

Well, I noticed how much I am saying things—such as, Awesome, Fail, Seriously—and I really wanted a change of pace. So the logical thing to do would be sit down with someone and to build, that’s right, a list of taboos.

And so it looks something like this…

Awesome
Epic
Fail
Boss
Seriously
Are you serious?
Really?
Who does that?
Right?
IKR
LOL
Lollig
Lawl
XD
Awkward
Random
Creepy/Creeper
Oh yummy!
“The most…in the world”
“About a million of…”
“About a thousand of…”
“That’s the most…you could do!”
“That’s obnoxious.”
Does this list look familiar to anyone? Maybe yes? Maybe no? And yes, I really do say these things. Yes, I spell out “LOL,” and “IKR.” (Which if you’re interested, simply means, “I know, right?”) Yes, I pronounce “Lawl.”So how did it go? Well, it’s maybe a little less than 24 hours later, and I’m sick of the list already. Sometimes, it just seems like it’s the right word to say. What would you call a tuna fish sandwich on top of a bus, if not simply “Random?” Perhaps, “Unexpected?” Maybe.

I guess the lesson of the day would be: Don’t say what you don’t mean. If you are getting sick of your words, then sure swap them out for a while. But don’t get religious about it…

But really, why call a soggy hat on the ground, “Awesome?”

Is a silence between friends really all that “Awkward?”

Is “LOL” really the right thing to say after a lame joke when nobody is smiling?

Thinkaboutit.

P.S. Needless to say, my list kind of failed…

P.S.2. After some rigorous exercise lately, enjoying the splendid weather, I’m sore. Throroughly.

2 thoughts on “Stop That!!!

  1. I know I have some favorite phrases, but if I start nit-picking, I’ll become too obsessive about it and may never write or speak again. Those around me may like that, so that is why I can’t go there 🙂

    Okay, here’s two that I say a lot, but no more!

    Really?
    Whaaat?

    • Ha ha ha! 🙂 The obsessive nit-picker type. I’m more non-nit-picky, perhaps that’s why my awesome list epically failed. 😉

      I’m a victim of the “Really” too. Is it a “Oh, is that so?” kind of Really, or a “Seriously?” kind of Really. (For instance, if you get cut off on the road by a police cruiser. “Really?!”)

Say Something Here

