Random Thoughts on Screaming & Eyes.

Today, seventeen years ago, Edvard Munch’s painting “The Scream,” was finally recovered after a three-month absence. Says History.com:

On May 7, 1994, Norway’s most famous painting, “The Scream” by Edvard Munch, was recovered almost three months after it was stolen from a museum in Oslo. The fragile painting was recovered undamaged at a hotel in Asgardstrand, about 40 miles south of Oslo, police said.

And the note that the robbers left behind? “Thousand thanks for the bad security!”

Enger was sentenced this time to six-and-a-half-years in prison. He escaped while on a field trip in 1999, and was captured 12 days later in a blond wig and dark sunglasses trying to buy a train ticket to Copenhagen.

This part really intrigued me. People still wear disguises? To disguise myself, I might wear a wig & a huge pair of movie star sunglasses as well. After all, I once learned that a face-recognizing camera caught people by judging their eyes. In a TV series about the face—narrated by John Cleese—he preformed an experiment, trying to disguise himself from a facial-recognition camera. How did he finally get away with it? He wore sunglasses.

The eyes are, undoubtedly, beautiful inventions. (Don’t look at me sideways–God did invent them!) Why is it that animals know to look into our eyes? How to people “Feel eyes” on them? Are the eyes really the windows to the soul? Can someone really “see it in your eyes,” and is that why people who are ashamed/nervous refuse to look into your eyes? Looking into somebody’s eyes too long can be uncomfortable…this is something that I’ve learned to conquer over the years. It can be awkward to stare into somebody’s eyes too long.

I suppose it’s even more awkward when you’ve done something like stolen a national painting…

8 thoughts on “Random Thoughts on Screaming & Eyes.

  1. I always wonder… After a movie like Oceans 11 or some other break in and steal something priceless type movie comes out in theatre, how many people try it a few weeks later and get caught… I’m willing to bet a few do.

  2. It’s kind of fun to try to look into someone’s eyes for so long that they start to squirm. The only problem is, I usually get uncomfortable first.

    I think they eyes do reveal a lot about a person. I can’t lie, but I’ve met a few people who can lie to your face without looking away or showing the obvious nervous signs. Kinda creepy.

    • Ha ha, that is kind of a fun control game 😀

      That is very creepy when people are like that. Which is the same reason that actors creep me out. (Can you imagine marrying an actor/actress? How would you know if they were EVER sincere about ANYTHING?)

  3. This is SO COOL. Eyes are insanely neat, if you ask me. And if I dare say so , I think that’s a mighty soulful eye you drew. No? 🙂

    Thanks for the thoughtfulness.

    • I love eyes too. That’s usually what I start out drawing if I sit down to do a portrait (of someone in my head), or I just draw an eye and stop there. Definitely one of hte most beautiful traits of human beings! Thanks for your words of encouragement. 🙂

Say Something Here

