Judgement Day? Probably Not.

Harold Camping. Photocredit: BBC.

Written to anybody who may be confused. 🙂

Some of you may have heard about this newest thing…Judgement Day 2011. Supposedly it’s supposed to happen on May 21st.

I read my Bible…and I have my doubts.

I hold that—chances at about a million to one—rapture day will not happen this Saturday. And I think a lot of people will be sadly disappointed. By “A lot of people,” I’m thinking about those who have gone after this false prediction, those who have fallen for the hysteria.

Am I anti-rapture? Definitely not! I am planning on (or rather NOT planning on, since it can’t be put on a calendar, ha ha) joining all my brothers & sisters someday as we’re extracted from this world before everything terrible happens (i.e. the End of the World). However…I am anti-rapture-prediction.

Let me explain a bit. Now, a lot of people probably have gone through this reasoning already, so I’m not going to go into tremendous detail. You can read the story for yourself in Matthew 24. Basically, when Jesus’ disciples ask him when the end of the world will be, he tells them about the end of the world, and concludes by saying that nobody (Except God of course) knows when it will be—not even the angels!!!

So, Believers, don’t get all ruffled up about Saturday. Live today like you would any other day.

PAUSE!!! “Live today like you would any other day.” Does that mean taking it easy because Jesus hasn’t come back for two thousand years and “He probably won’t today either?” You never know. Two things could happen. One: He could come back!!! I believe it is going to be a surprise—not as in something we’re not expecting (I peek up into the clouds every now and then, just to see if he’s coming yet. Why not? Didn’t he tell us to? :)), rather as in something you can’t plan for. Two: Some terrible catastrophe could happen, and, though we always like to believe that it will be the other person, you could end up dead. Where would you be then?

Be thoughtful and walk circumspectly. If it’s been a while since you’ve touched the Throne, take a minute. If you’re scared about Saturday, then you should be scared about today, because it could happen any time now!!!

I know I don’t talk often about my Christian Faith here, but I thought it would be an appropriate post, given the times. 😉

17 thoughts on “Judgement Day? Probably Not.

  1. Hmm. I want to say somthing, but I am not sure it is appropriate. I agree with you on your dismissal of Harold Camping (whose “predictions” are very clearly and directly anti-Biblical)… but as a fellow christian, I disagree with the doctrine of the “rapture” generally. I know that doctrine is central to several denominations of christianity, though, and I usually try to avoid getting in doctrinal arguments with folks from other denominations, because I rather prefer to stay friends with folks, you know?

    • Hey, first of all, thanks for stating your opinions…I’m glad that you trust me enough to disagree with me here. That’s good. I’m glad that I don’t come across as an everybody-else-is-wrong kind of person.

      Also, I would be open to having a respectful conversation about the subject.…I do know what you mean about wanting to stay friends though, and you won’t have to worry about that. I know some anti-rapture people (or rather, anti-pre-trib-rapture…), and we get along quite swimmingly. Does it have to do with the Greek lexicon, or maybe just a personal inclination?

      Only, of course, if you’re up to discussing it.

      • It has to do with having read and interpretted Revelations front to back several times myself, and not having found any reference in it to anything that might be construed as a Pre-tribulation rapture… That, and my own personal beliefs about the nature of God, but that’s my own thing, I suppose.

        Also read a lot of good arguments against the idea, and never read anything that I thought made a good case for it.

        Then again… I don’t like to talk much about my own religion. I belong to a “heathen” denomination (i.e. one that many christians reject as being a part of the christian fold, some so virulently so that I fear even mentioning my denomination will lead some to denounce or dismiss me out of hand; what’s worse is I willfully chose to be a member of that denomination in my twenties, when I switched from the church I was raised in), so I’m sensitive to how I and others discuss religion.

      • That’s fine, this is definitely not a place where I’m trying to force people to talk about their beliefs on religion (or anything for that matter…)!

    • To be honest, I had to google ‘Rapture’. I’m Catholic, so it’s not a term that was taught to us. Live each day like it’s your last… that’s what I try to do. And I think it’s brave to discuss your faith openly, because it can bring disagreement, but I think your readers are pretty respectful. Be happy! I for one, am looking forward to the weekend. And to hazard a joke… I’m on the west coast, and should the end of days actually occur on the 21st, Australia should be toast first, and I’ll have plenty of warning ;D

      • Catholic was my former faith – the one I was raised in. That’s probably part of why I don’t hold to that particular belief, either. It’s just not in the Catholic lexicon.

      • Hmm, some convo going on that I didn’t expect 😀 Yes, I think we’re a pretty understanding bunch here. And yes, the weekend does look like it might turn out to be a nice one!!!

        Just feel sorry for those who hold with the 21st belief. It’s likely going to be a very disappointing weekend, not to mention rather humiliating 😦 It’s just sad that the Christian faith is being misrepresented by these people. Makes the rest of us look bad, you know?

    • Right? Exactly!!! It seems so simple! Yet I suppose people can tend to get wise in themselves. °*sigh*°

      I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again. This is going to be veeeery disappointing for a bunch of people.

  2. This sounds just like the horrible horrible earthquake that was supposed to destroy Roma on the 11th… apparently lots of people left the city, just in case. I was in London, but not because I believed in the prophecy (my hairdresser mentioned it to me in February, I had long forgotten about it when I booked my flights)… and then the earthquake hit SPAIN!

    • Oh no!!! What a complicated web. The people who prepared for it didn’t get it. The people who had a good reason to ignore the warning got hit. And the writer who went to London to get her hair done (sheesh, such opulence!!! ha ha) got to avoid paranoia and disaster.

      There’s a story in there somewhere.

  3. [Thanks, House of Happy. Saw this hot item on the net.]

    PRETRIB RAPTURE – HIDDEN FACTS !

    How can the “rapture” be “imminent”? Acts 3:21 says that Jesus “must” stay in heaven (He’s now there with the Father) “until the times of restitution of all things” which includes, says Scofield, “the restoration of the theocracy under David’s Son” which obviously can’t begin before or during Antichrist’s reign. (“The Rapture Question,” by the long time No. 1 pretrib authority John Walvoord, didn’t dare to even list, in its scripture index, the too-hot-to-handle Acts 3:21!) Since Jesus can’t even leave heaven before the tribulation ends (Acts 2:34,35 echo this), the rapture therefore can’t take place before the end of the trib!
    Paul explains the “times and the seasons” (I Thess. 5:1) of the catching up (I Thess. 4:17) as the “day of the Lord” (5:2) which FOLLOWS the posttrib sun/moon darkening (Matt. 24:29; Acts 2:20) WHEN “sudden destruction” (5:3) of the wicked occurs! The “rest” for “all them that believe” is tied to such destruction in II Thess. 1:6-10! (If the wicked are destroyed before or during the trib, who’d be left alive to serve the Antichrist?) Paul also ties the change-into-immortality “rapture” (I Cor. 15:52) to the posttrib end of “death” (15:54). (Will death be ended before or during the trib? Of course not! And vs. 54 is also tied to Isa. 25:8 which is Israel’s posttrib resurrection!)
    Many are unaware that before 1830 all Christians had always viewed I Thess. 4’s “catching up” as an integral part of the final second coming to earth. In 1830 this “rapture” was stretched forward and turned into a separate coming of Christ. To further strengthen their novel view, which the mass of evangelical scholars rejected throughout the 1800s, pretrib teachers in the early 1900s began to stretch forward the “day of the Lord” (what Darby and Scofield never dared to do) and hook it up with their already-stretched-forward “rapture.” Many leading evangelical scholars still weren’t convinced of pretrib, so pretrib teachers then began teaching that the “falling away” of II Thess. 2:3 is really a pretrib rapture (the same as saying that the “rapture” in 2:3 must happen before the “rapture” [“gathering”] in 2:1 can happen – the height of desperation!).
    Other Google articles on the 181-year-old pretrib rapture view include “Famous Rapture Watchers,” “Pretrib Rapture Diehards,” “X-Raying Margaret,” “Edward Irving is Unnerving,” “Thomas Ice (Bloopers),” “Walvoord Melts Ice,” “Wily Jeffrey,” “The Rapture Index (Mad Theology),” “America’s Pretrib Rapture Traffickers,” “Roots of (Warlike) Christian Zionism,” “Scholars Weigh My Research,” “Pretrib Hypocrisy,” “Pretrib Rapture Secrecy,” “Deceiving and Being Deceived,” and “Pretrib Rapture Dishonesty” – all by the author of the bestselling book “The Rapture Plot” (see Armageddon Books).

  4. Pingback: I Can Finally Do It! « House of Happy

Say Something Here

