Arun Cadmire-Hancock

All right.

Those who know me know my infatuation with house plants. It’s borderline neurosis, y’all. In fact…

Now that you’ve JUDGED me…

ARRRUUUUUNNNNNN!!!!! 😆

If you haven’t been able to tell by now, Arun is a rubber plant. I bought him recently with a gift card someone got me (because they know that I love plants). His name, “Arun Cadmire-Hancock,” is a combination of the Hindi “Arun,” and the European “Cadmire-Hancock.” Hindi why? Because it is native to India. (And obviously the Europeanized surname is because he was purchased here in America.)

I haven’t learned much about his personality yet…I only purchased him yesterday.

Planty & Gershwin seem to like him. Planty asked me if he was a relative, but I said no, cause Planty is a Jade Plant, and Arun is a Rubber Plant. (Sheesh.)

Arun, (Being a Ficus Elasticus) appears to be non-toxic, hence making an ideal floor plant.

This is a good thing, because I’ve had bad a couple bad experiences with plants recently. The first time I tried to buy a pal for Gershwin & Planty, I ended up bringing home a variety of poinsettia—which, the internet informed me, could cause eye damage. Eech. Wouldn’t want that hanging around! So, I … eh… removed it from my room, and decided to save the spot for another plant.

Well, this last time, I went out with my gift card and purchased a Japanese Pieris. Poison? Dunno. So I googled it. Turns out, some of its disarmingly creepy side-effects include paralysis, death, and eye problems…or heart problems…or something tragic like that. So I returned it. I almost bought my rubber plant that day, but I wanted to do my research first.

Results: positive.


7 thoughts on “Arun Cadmire-Hancock

  1. Wow! Congrats on the new addition to your family, JP! =) I should really think about a rubber plant too — no risk of allergies. =)

    And how silly of Planty to think that Arun was a relative. =P Sheesh! Haha!

Say Something Here

