I’m The One

Happy sunday everyone!

Felt a little poetic this morning.

Enjoy!

Photo Credit Tristan Nitot via Wikimedia Commons

I am the one who watches the sunrise,

I’m the one who wakes you up,

I am the one who points out the pigeons,

I’m the one who hails the taxis.

#

When we cry, the planes fly on,

When the tourists are blind to the tears,

I am the one who doesn’t hear the traffic,

I’m the one that can’t see the world

For all its powder-blue and golden glory.

#

I am the one who watches the sundown,

I’m the one who tells you it’s time,

I am the one who turns out the lights,

I’m the one who ducks outside the door,

Telling you I’ll see you tomorrow,

I’m the one who spends a sleepless night,

Staring at a far off streetlamp, and the moth

That blindly circles its light.

#

I am the one who thinks three thoughts,

I’m the one who makes conversation,

I’m the one who makes reservations,

I’m the one who schedules the outings,

Who turns over,

And falls asleep alone,

Under the shadow of the Tour.

2 thoughts on “I’m The One

Say Something Here

