Versatility

Charlotte: I’m versatile.
Wilbur: Does “versatile” mean “full of eggs”?
Charlotte: No, it means I can change with ease from one thing to another.
(From Charlotte’s Web.)

If you caught me eating breakfast, I might be “Full of eggs…” But as of right now, I’m only versatile in the changeable sense.

At least, so I am according to Deshipley of Ever On Word, a blog I recently discovered (rather, a blog that recently discovered me!) where a talented writer writes (What else would she be doing? …Frying eggs?) a blog that is both delightful and easy to read. I recommend it if you’re in need of another blog to read!

Yes, because of my versatility, I’ve been awarded the versatile “Versatile Blogger Award.” (Hey, if you say that enough times, it doesn’t even sound like a word!)

So the rules of this award:

Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them.

Done that. Thanks, Deshipley!

Tell your readers 7 things about yourself.

Give this award to 15 recently discovered bloggers.

Contact those bloggers and let them in on the news.

Here we go! First item of business…Hope you like listening to blabber. 😉

1. I can read and write a little Tamil, which is a Southern Indian language (think Tamil Nadu). I studied it a few years ago, but had little to no use for it, so I dropped it. Maybe I’ll pick it up again someday. I dunno.

2. I have a picture of Neil Armstrong hanging on my wall. Why? I saw it at a friend’s house, thought it was awesome, and they gifted it to me. It’s old and kinda faded, and kinda nineties, and in a gross frame. But, it’s Neil Armstrong, and if it weren’t for people like him, hey, I bet his family would really miss him. And after all is said and done, isn’t that one of the most important things?

3. I also have a portrait of Edmund Valcourt Deedle is hanging on my wall. Mr. Deedle is the fictional (questionably racist) scientist-inventor founder of the Land of Blue, in which my book is set. The portrait stares out the window all day every day and makes sure that my house is not invaded by the armies of the French Renaissance of the Post-Radio Era …Cough, cough…More on that later, maybe. 😉 (I have a lot of time on my hands to create fictional history…)
4. I’m right-handed, but I write like a lefty! Or so I’ve been told. Anyhow, when I hold my pen, it looks a little like this [See left]:
5. I recently learned about “The Game.” What’s the game? Well, everybody in the world is playing The Game. The only rule is that you can’t think of The Game, and as soon as you think of it, you lose. Which you have to tell everyone by saying, “I lost The Game!!!” Which, I guess, subsequently takes out everyone else in the room because then they think about it, too. But don’t worry…as soon as you forget about The Game, you’re back in.
6. I love weird names! Just switch out a vowel or consonant, and I’m Game! (Oh no, I just lost THE GAME!!!) Stieve, Arriet, Ejake, you name it. 😉 Ha ha, no, that wasn’t a pun, really it wasn’t…It wasn’t, really…uh…
7. I have persnickety hair. If I don’t take special care of it, it gets all dry, twisted, and sometimes impossible to work with. I have a part in the wrong place, strands that can’t decide to be curls or waves, and under the light it turns green…sometimes purple. I’m glad I have hair, but somedays (not to sound flaky) I can’t do a thing with it!

Enough about me.

Now, to give away this Versatile Award! Unfortunately, I don’t think I can hit the 15-blogger requirement, so I’m going to do a fifth of that…

1. Tiyana Marie White. She writes everything from book reviews to flash fiction to writing tips! Stop in and visit her!

2. Paula Tohline Calhoun, who “Lives” over at Reflections From A Cloudy Mirror. She’s got a snarky sense of humor, and also does bad poetry (which gets you “Cool” points in my book, PTC!). If you’re ever feeling witty, stop in at her place for an epic poetry battle, or just to read about life through a Cloudy Mirror.

3. Samantha Bangayan, who is a Canadian Ex-Pat. Interested in South America? Drop by and pay her a visit today, for everything Peruvian! She also “treats her blogging friends like gold.” (Thanks for those retweets, Samantha!)

Keep up the good work, guys!!!

10 thoughts on “Versatility

  1. My ! My! My! Such blessings from so vaunted a source. You realize of course that versatile is just another word for flighty and indecisive, which leads to. . .you guessed it! Bad Poetry!

    A versatile blogger I am
    i never know just what to write
    So whatever pops into my mind
    I’ll write down, even if it is trite.
    All versatile bloggers know well
    The value of scatterbrained thought
    When we sit down to pen our next post
    And our words don’t come out as they ought.
    Just close both your eyes and pray, that
    Your genetics take charge of your pen
    And before you can say “This is awful!”
    You ‘ll be writing the bad stuff again!

  2. First of all, WOW! Thank you SOO much, JP! It’s such an honor to be recommended by you and what kind words. =)

    I also loved learning tons more about you! =) I’m especially with you on the weird names. In fact, I have a long list of children from a rural Andean community that we did studies with once. Let’s see if I can find any weird ones or at least weird spelling… Deyvy, Eloy, Sthiven, Odaliz, Mistica, Bhihith, Clendy, Leudy, Cristhian, Dafne, Jhony. Hehe! =)

  3. Pingback: Buy Guaranteed Facebook Fans

Say Something Here

