Guy Billout

In hopes of expanding your artistic palate…

The artist here is Guy Billout, definitely one of my favorites. His art is great, and his straight lines remind me of Tintin, by Hergé—quirky but very sensible at the same time.

His artwork is so creative…so unlike what one usually sees. It’s like a breath of fresh air. Clean cut lines, sarcastic ideas, brilliant fading skies.

This is the way I feel about most things.

Music, for one. I’m a big fan of Owl City, and I like Fireflies (who doesn’t?), Umbrella Beach, and Alligator Sky. Meteor Shower wins points in my book, too. But I noticed that a lot of Adam’s songs sound very similar—almost like the same song with different lyrics. What happened, Owl City? Was it your label, or was it just a lack of creativity? Perhaps I’m just a snob.

Fashion tires me as well. I see the same stuff over and over, and a lot of the time, it’s not even good. There are some nice styles, though. Converse, yes. Ray-ban, yes. Hoodies, timeless. Striped pants, hard to find but yes. But there are the other fashions that are like those “-that wouldn’t die” horror movies. Movie-star sunglasses that make girls look like aliens. Skinny jeans that can’t be good for your circulation. V-neck tee shirts. Halter-tops. And those flopsy, mopsy hairdos that make girls look like boys and boys look like girls.

Lastly—and because all roads lead to Rome—also got my issues with books. I get tired of the same stuff over and over again, to the point where I was at the library recently and it sincerely frustrated me as I read the overview of a fantasy novel. Fairies (or Faeries, or Farees, or Phå’á®êäz, or whichever “creative” way you want to spell it), portals to other worlds, twelve-year-old twins, and the end of the book where the guy gets the girl, gets a little wearying.

But books that offer a fresh view on things, fresh characters, fresh worlds…now, now we’re talking.

A breath of fresh air is more of a relief if you’ve been breathing the stale variety for a while.

All pictures copyright Guy Billout. No stealing. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Guy Billout

  1. *Loving* that last picture. The gradation of blue, the movement of the water… oh yeah, the fact that the guy is standing atop a wave like it’s no big thing: Awesomeness.
    Hmm, maybe I should pull a “find/replace” in my “Ballad of Allyn-a-Dale” manuscript, turning all instances of “Faeries” into that hip-happenin’ “Ph…..z” deal you’ve got going on. Spellcheck totally wouldn’t give me the evil eye or anything.

  2. That is some interesting artwork. Thanks for sharing, JP!

    “Movie-star sunglasses that make girls look like aliens.”

    Yeah–giant bug-like aliens. Very few can pull it off without looking ridiculous.

    “Skinny jeans that can’t be good for your circulation.”

    Haha. I didn’t used to like skinnies, but I recently bought some jegging (jean-leggings) by Elle, and boy, are they comfy! Definitely one of those things that isn’t for everyone, though…

    • Ha ha, actually I must confess, someone misplaced a pair of “jeggings” in the boys’ section at the department store once, and I picked it up thinking it looked interesting. I got them a quarter on before I realized that they were women’s pants. 😀 (And yes, the material was very comfy!!!!)

  3. I was just thinking about this as I read your guest post at Ollin’s blog. *You* bring a breath of fresh air to my online life, JP! I can only wish that I had your wit, creativity, and humor. =)

    • Oh, thank you for such kind words, Samantha! I’m glad to have you as part of my blogging community, too. 🙂

      As for the wit, creativity, and humor, I was surrounded by loud & sarcastic people growing up. If you can’t beat em, join em!!!

Say Something Here

