New York, New York!


A doorman hailing a cab from the Grand Hyatt.

So, this small-town bumpkin hit the Big City last month, for the SCBWI 13th International Conference at the end of January. Going to a Writers’ Conference has been something I’ve had in the back of my mind for months. It’s like a writer milestone…that one thing that every writer has to do at some point in his/her life.

The event, hosted by the hilarious Lin Oliver, took place at the Grand Hyatt in Manhattan. It ran through a Saturday and a Sunday, and by the time it was over, my head was soaked in good information about publishing and writing. All in all, it was inspiring. Met some writers from my district, saw some published authors (Brett Helquist, Cassandra Clare, Jane Yolen, Chris Crutcher, Peter Brown…), and even saw Henry Winkler. Go figure. 🙂

The last keynote I found extraordinarily fascinating and helpful. It was by Kathryn Erskine, and it was about FOCUS—Heh heh, we could all use a little more of that! 🙂 Read about it here and get writing!!! (After you finish reading this blog post, of course!…)

All the people!!!

My thanks to SCBWI for putting together such a nice conference!

This week I’m planning on putting up some more bits of my trip. So look forward to pictures. 🙂

Okay, NOW get writing!!!

9 thoughts on “New York, New York!

  1. Big man o’ the world now, huh? Sounds like you had fun. (:
    I don’t suppose we can look forward to any of these promised pictures featuring your so-far-anonymous mug? (Because you know we’re all dying to see the vessel from which you sip your writerly hot beverages…)

    • Well, Deshipley, I will be posting a picture of my anonymous mug—the kind that I drink winter beverages from. As to the kind that I drink winter beverages by, well you know my thus-far stance on that. 🙂

  2. A conference in the Big Apple, eh?

    I’ve never been there, myself. The only big (US) cities I’ve visited/lived in are San Fran, L.A., San Diego, Las Vegas, Atlanta, and Salt Lake City.

    It sounds like it was probably a great experience. Someday… I shall get out to a bigger convention and maybe hobnob with writers and editors…

  3. Pingback: Makes Your Head Spin 2 « House of Happy

  4. Pingback: Extroverts and Introverts: Get Along Already! | Home for Lost Thoughts

Say Something Here

