Today It Rains

Today it rains.

At first, it seems an inconvenience that none should have to endure.

Then, one becomes more aware of the beauty of the storm.

The dark skies, bold outlines of glistening black trees.

The drops of water running together on windows, making patterns as liquid as thoughts, as changing as emotions, and as luminescent as a daydream.

The wind that attends the rain, scatters it around, holds it tight.

Then our minds return to the moment,

And we don’t quite smile, but we aren’t sad.

11 thoughts on “Today It Rains

      • Thanks for your concern, Stephen. 🙂 I’ve been a bit down, and as evasive as it sounds, I think it may have to do with the weather…in my part of the world, the skies are heavy and gray. That does a lot to my attitude. That, or it just magnifies what small problems I’m already trying to work through. 🙂

  1. “It sounds like you’re a bit melancholy these days. I hope whatever’s got you down gets turned around.”
    I was thinking the same thing… Psalm 22:24

  2. A rainy day can evoke mixed emotions depending on how we view it (and what our plans may have been for the day.) For instance, I’d be sad if it rained when we were supposed to go to an outdoor festival….but I’d be happy if it rained when I was supposed to mow the lawn. Oh, who am I kidding…my husband mows the lawn 🙂

    • It’s all in how you look at things. Perspective is everything. Fortunately, there were no outdoor festivals this week, but the person who mows my lawn actually enjoys doing so…so too bad for them! (And I’m sure your husband appreciates a good rainy day when he’s supposed to mow the lawn too?)

Say Something Here

